Picture
The Sonnet Challenge

Your sonnet should contain:
1. 14 lines

2. Attempted iambic pentameter (or at least around 10 syllables              
    per line)
3. Shakespearean OR Petrarchan rhyme scheme--slant rhyme counts! 
4. A 1-2 paragraph response to discuss process and intentions. 
5. Please feel free to post sonnets and/or responses in the comments! If you are too shy, just bring me a hard copy of the sonnet on Monday :) 



Extra Credit Sonnet should be passed in or posted by Monday, Feb 11 at midnight!




Michelllllllllllllllllllllle aka Rochester Hater
2/11/2013 05:54:31 am

Title-less as of now :)

Oh Rochester you are so mean my dear
What have you, sir? That is so harsh and cruel
You took nice Jane and made her full of tears
I’m glad you were covered in Bertha’s drool.
Because you were so insecure yourself
You tested her all day and night, but why?
You took dear Jane and made her doubt herself
You weren’t afraid of showing your mean side!
Oh Rochester I beg you please, do go.
And though you are without a hand and such
I wish to bury you in this cold snow
I don’t regret that I hate thee so much.
For even though Jane seems to love you, sir
I do not trust that you, sir, do love her.

Well, if you didn’t already know, I really don’t like Rochester. Where better to write about him than in a sonnet!? I first made my lines AABB CCDD EEFF GG then rearranged them to get the Shakespearean form. The thoughts weren’t hard, but making them into just 10 syllables was. I basically got one piece of the line then figured out what would fit into the 10 syllable format. The rhymes were difficult sometimes but I would eventually rearrange the line enough to make it rhyme. I really enjoyed doing this! I really don’t think it’s completely iambi, but most of it is and I know that there are five feet in every line! I hope you all had a good laugh!

Reply



Leave a Reply.