Picture

Figurative Language Assignment:

1. Choose one particular example of figurative language (metaphor, simile, image, personification) that you enjoyed from Act I of Hamlet.
2. Share the example, using proper citation format (if you're not sure how to cite Shakespeare, look it up! There are many resources available on the web, including Purdue Owl).
3. Write a brief reflection on why you enjoy this example, and briefly analyze what themes or issues are illuminated by this particular piece of figurative language.

Due: by midnight on Sunday, Feb 12

Bonus Question!!! Mystery Image (above): What is portrayed in this image? How might it be connected to any of the themes we've seen in Hamlet? Discuss in comments if you wish. All will be revealed in class on Monday.

** Casey, this one's for you! :)




Casey Rosenberg
2/10/2012 06:25:07 am

WE ARE ALL IN THE SAME HOUSE IN THE SAME TIME AND DESTINY SHOWED ME THIS AND I ONLY SCREAMED. A LOT. AND I HAVEN'T STOPPED. IN FACT I MAY HAVE BROKEN THE CAPS LOCK ON DESTINY'S LAPTOP.

GUESS WHAT BECAUSE IT'S A PICTURE OF A MATHING PLAGUE DOCTOR.

It could be related to the theme of ROT that we have discussed about Hamlet because the plague doctors are images of DEATH, specifically the BLACK DEATH, the Bubonic plague, pick a name. Do you want a whole history of these guys because I can provide this. 8 I

Reply
Ms. Draper
2/11/2012 11:59:15 pm

Casey, I thought you would appreciate this, haha.

So, yes, you're definitely onto something with the rot theme, and the significance of the plague :) The Black Death was definitely in the consciousness of writers, artists and common people at the time, and outbreaks of the plague still routinely occurred (though not at the devastating levels of the original Black Death, in the 1300's). Also, we can think back to Poe's story, Masque of the Red Death, for an example of how the plague seeps into literary consciousness.

Reply
Destiny Desroche
2/11/2012 05:23:36 am

I'm sensing a theme here...No one ever submits their entries until Sunday at 10:00. Anyway, here goes.

So, I had two favorite examples, one a metaphor, the other a simile, but I guess I’ll use the metaphor.


Yea, from the table of my memory

I’ll wipe away all trivial, fond records,

All saws of books, all forms, all pressures past,

That youth and observation copied there,

And thy commandment all alone shall live

Within the book and volume of my brain,

Unmixed with base matter. (I.5.105-11)

Okay, so I like this example because not only is Hamlet comparing his memory to a clearly defined section in a book, but because he is placing that vow above all else. He is going to replace all memories of his past or things he has learned with the vow. The human mind could be considered a book. Within our mind we categorize certain memories, and we have a timeline of events that helps us remember when things occurred throughout our lives from childhood to the present. So when Hamlet says that he will “wipe away all trivial, fond records…” he could be saying that he plans to forget anything not important or relevant to the vow (or his father). His fond memories don’t hold any importance in light of the betrayal. This could also suggest that his fondest memories are of his father. Assuming that he would only keep any relevant information regarding the vow then he wouldn’t keep anything related to his father. Either that or he has a single-minded determination to kill his uncle and all memories outside of the reminder of the vow are irrelevant. Did I just type myself in a circle? Probably. Do I care? No.

Now, as far as themes, I would argue that this could be related to insanity. After all, he is making a vow to get revenge on his father’s behalf. I mean really, how many people can honestly say that they spoke to their father’s ghost and promised to kill the man who murdered him? That’s a little weird, especially considering the state of the country. Fortinbrass is one bad day away from trying to attack Denmark and with Denmark’s internal conflicts; this vow couldn’t be made at a worse time. Hamlet can’t think about anything other than a dead man. While everyone can see the ghost, Bernado and Horatio don’t make any promises. They aren’t going crazy. Other themes? I could rant on and on about death or familial bonds, but I have a feeling that someone else will mention them.

Toodlepips.

Reply
Destiny Desroche
2/11/2012 05:24:21 am

UGH! My lines didn't indent. Oh well, pretend I cited them correctly.

Reply
Jenny
2/12/2012 10:51:10 am

Toodle-pips! An in-joke that only people who actually do the reading will get!

Reply
Laura
2/11/2012 11:26:51 pm

I shall the effect of this good lesson keep
As watchman to my heart. But, good my brother,
Do not, as some ungracious pastors do,
Show me the steep and thorny way to heaven,
Whiles, (like) a puffed and reckless libertine,
Himself the primrose path of dalliance treads
And recks not his own rede. (1.3. 49-55)

I chose Ophelia's litte spiel to her brother, Laertes, because she speaks wisely and makes a good point. Shakespeare incorporates (what I think are) metaphors and similes. Ophelia compares Laertes to "ungracious pastors" and a "watchman to (her) heart." Laertes is clearly looking out for her, but Ophelia can't help but to fear that he will be hypocritical, like pastor who does not abide by the lessons he preaches. I especially liked the imagery and metaphor of "the steep and thorny way to heaven" which represents a life that includes sin and wrongdoing. Ophelia also compares Laertes to a "puffed and reckless libertine", warning him that he shall not follow a path ("the primrose path of dalliance) of sin himself as he goes out into the world. I was also surprised to find Ophelia's character to be fairly wise and wary; based on what Laertes warned her, I expected her to be a bit dense and foolish.

Reply
Laura
2/11/2012 11:29:22 pm

Andd I have absolutely no idea what that creepy bird thing is, but I would guess that it may have something to do with hidden identity and people (or things) not being what they seem or appear to be. I'm only assuming this because whatever that bird thing is, it looks like it is in some sort of disguise because of the freaky goggles, hat, and cloak thing.

Reply
Ms. Draper
2/12/2012 12:07:24 am

Laura, take a look at Casey's comment and my reply--that will help to shed some light on the matter :)

Reply
Megan
2/12/2012 12:24:16 am

Alright, I chose a metaphor the Ghost uses when speaking to Hamlet…

‘Tis given out that, sleeping in my orchard,
A serpent stung me. So the whole ear of Denmark
Is by forged process of my death
Rankly abused. But Know, thou noble youth,
The serpent that did sting thy father’s life
Now wears his crown. (1.5.42-47)

Here the ghost of King Hamlet uses a metaphor to explain his death. Having poison poured into his ear not only killed himself but the “whole ear of Denmark” meaning that all of Denmark “died” when King Hamlet died. King Hamlet ear stands for all Denmark’s ear. I enjoyed this metaphor because it was creative, like most metaphors are, and made a lot of sense to me. The king is in charge of all of Denmark and when he dies his whole kingdom dies. (Especially when your new king is a murderer)

This metaphor is an example and connection to the theme of corruption. The new king not only corrupted King Hamlet but also all of Denmark because he is obviously evil and crazy. And it’s obvious that if your king is a murderer your future is in awful hands. But it also links into revenge for it gives Hamlet all the more reason to get back at his uncle for killing his father.

Reply
Nate
2/12/2012 03:38:51 am

“Nor customary suits of solemn black,
Nor windy suspiration of forced breath,
No, nor the fruitful river in the eye,
Nor the dejected havior of the visage,
Together with all forms, moods, shapes of grief,
That can denote me truly. These indeed ‘seem’
For they are actions a man might play” (1.2.81-86)
I chose this metaphor by Hamlet because while it is rather dark I found it be quite beautiful. It reveals how devastating the old king’s death was for Hamlet and the grief he still has months after his death. I know it’s very depressing but it also shows how a loss in the family can have a great effect on its members. The theme which is presented in this passage is probably one we will see later in the play. While Hamlet wears dark clothes and is depressed over his father’s death they are only the tip of the ice berg of how he actually feels. There is more than what is actually presented and connects to later in the story where Hamlet will act unlike himself in order to avenge his father.

Reply
Puni
2/12/2012 09:59:09 am

I really like when Laertes is lecturing Ophelia about not giving herself up to Hamlet, here's the section I chose:

Virtue itself 'scapes not calumnious strokes.
The canker galls the infants of the spring
Too oft before their buttons be disclosed,
And in the morn and liquid dew of youth,
Contagious blastments are most imminent.
Be wary, then; best safety lies in fear.
Youth to itself rebels, though none else near. (1.3.42-48)

There are some parts that is so pretty it made me go "awww..." seeing Laertes being so concerned of his sister and I think that the phrase "liquid dew of youth" has a gorgeous ring to it. I love how he describes springtime blossoms as "infants of the spring", it's so cute! But in other parts, the metaphors were uncanny enough to make me go "eww..." Like when he talks about "cankers", a leprous disease that attacks baby plants and rots (*gasp* more rotting?!) them to death. The young ones (Ophelia) are the most susceptible to evil and they are more likely to be tainted by their environment and pedophiles. He uses the word "contagious" to relate to the theme of grotesque, rotting disease. I feel like the theme of rotting refers to the corruption within the character like moral corruption or incest and betrayal. Those are attributes that disgusts Hamlet as he finds out the truth about his father's death.

Reply
DAAAVVIIIIDD FUUUULLLLTTTTOOOONNN
2/12/2012 10:35:34 am

It's either a scary plague doctor or a really cute duck in a hat.
Ghost Dad says:
"I find the apt;
And duller shouldst thou be than the fat weed
That roots itself in ease on Lethe wharf,
Whouldst thou not stir in this. Now, Hamlet, hear."
(I.v.38-41)

This comes directly before Shakespeare first introduces the whole serpent=King Uncle Stepdad thing, which I also really like. I chose this, however, because of its reference to classical mythology, which probably would have been much more a part of the public consciousness in Victorian England than it is today. Lethe is the river of forgetfulness which the dead drink of to forget their lives and become "shades." This therefore emphasizes the burden laid upon Hamlet to take revenge; if he does not, he might as well have forgotten his father entirely.

Reply
Jenny Jeffrey
2/12/2012 10:49:04 am

O, that this too, too sullied flesh would melt,
Thaw, and resolve itself into a dew,
Or that the Everlasting had not fixed
His canon ’gainst self-slaughter! O God, God,
How weary, stale, flat, and unprofitable
Seem to me all the uses of this world!
Fie on’t, ah fie! ‘Tis an unweeded garden
That grows to seed. Things rank and gross in nature
Possess it merely. (I.ii.133-141)

I’m picking this quote because I love all of Hamlet’s angsty speeches. I feel like a more modern Hamlet would sound just like me: “Everything is awful! I can’t even handle this right now! I wish I were dead!” That’s basically what he’s saying in this quote. He’s angry at life and wishing that suicide wouldn’t get him sent to Hell. I prefer the version of Hamlet that reads “too, too solid body,” since it fits the image neatly, but this one works, too. This is the audience's introduction to Hamlet’s serious depression and...wistful rage-sadness. (Is there a word for that? “Despair”?) This will play quite a major role in the amount of time he spends moping around instead of acting, since, after all, he is depressed and does not exactly trust himself enough to condemn Claudius with confidence. Next, poor Hamlet decides in his angst that everything is awful. The world is an unweeded garden, going to seed, in which only the disgusting thrives. This kicks off the rot imagery and the notion of corrupt power structures, /and/ it aptly connects the two. Corruption, power, and gross death-related images are linked for the rest of the play—which is no surprise for a time in which the body was a common symbol for the kingdom. Whenever images of rot are invoked, they can be applied directly to the political state.

By the way, I’ve seen hundreds of creepier plague doctors on Casey’s blog alone. Pshhh!

Reply
Casey Rosenberg
2/12/2012 11:21:28 am

Let's get some Horatio up in here. He's unloved:

"The graves stood tenantless, and the sheeted dead
Did squeak and gibber in the Roman streets;
As stars with trains of fire and dews of blood,
Disasters in the sun; and the moist star,
Upon whose influence Neptune's empire stands,
Was sick almost to doomsday with eclipse.
And harbingers preceding still the fates
And prologue to the omen coming on..."
(I.I.127-135)

_______________________
I'm picking this quote partly because you guys took a lot of good quotes, but partly because THIS IS A GOOD QUOTE. And I'm kinda surprised no one snatched it up before me.
I must be trained to just pick up on this blood imagery stuff, so thank you to St Pierre for that. I just think this quote is loaded with fantastic images of walking dead ("tenantless graves" made me think that), blood, comets, rising seas--all sorts of fun, "doomsday" things; all of which are relevant to the themes of discord, rot and omens that we mentioned in class.

Also I really love the word "harbinger."


And I would totally give you guys the link to my blog, but thar there be be monsters. And some of my art and fine poetry. But mostly monsters. Also I have a plague doctor mask that I made. Do you want me to bring it in?

Reply
Ms. Draper
2/12/2012 09:49:46 pm

Casey--yes!

Reply
Kristie
2/12/2012 12:15:55 pm

I am thy father's spirit
Doomed for a certain term to walk the night
And for the day confined to fast in fires
Till the foul crimes done in my days of nature
Are brunt and purged awy. But that I am forbid
To tell the secrets of my pirson house,
I could a tale unfold whose lightest word
Would harrow up thy soul, freeze thy young blood,
Make thy two eyes, like stars, start from their
spheres,
Thy knotte and combined locks to part,
And each particular hair to stand an end,
Like quills upon the fearful porpentine.
But this eternal blazon must not be
To ears of flesh and blood. List, list, O list!
If thou dist ever thy dear father love - (1.5.15-29)

I was particularly enticed by the Ghost's monologue because his words may be tainted with deceit or treachery, and his intentions of vengeance are clearly malicious. The legitimacy of the Ghost really being the Ghost of King Hamlet is convoluted by the fact that the reader has no foundation of comparison, to analyze the "human King Hamlet" versus his Ghost. By this rationale, the Ghost's identity is more of a nebulous mass of words than a definitive illustration of "young" Hamlet's father. Both the conflicts of revenge and identity are developing themes to Hamlet. It is hinted that Hamlet's identity will morph into something unrecognizable as he plans to use the subterfuge of insanity as a gambit to attain his vengeance upon his father's murder.

I thought that the imagery of this passage was eerily enticing, especially the phrase "would harrow thy soul, freeze thy young blood" (when the Ghost is referring to a secret that he is forbidden to tell the secrets of his "prison house"). I find this phrase particularly chilling as "young" is usually associated with innocence, and for youth to be juxtaposed with blood freezing creates an image of a barbaric and painful death. This description may also be related to the way (young) Hamlet's father was murdered by a torturous poison that prolonged and intensified the King's suffering.

Furthermore, the way the Ghost described the sensation that Hamlet would feel as he pursued his father's murderer was just as chilling. Especially when the ghost said, "each particular hair to stand an end" as if the Ghost was a manifestation of both Hamlet's physical and mental qualms. Furthermore, the fact that the Ghost uses Hamlet's father's death as a catalyst for Hamlet to seek vengeance against his uncle illustrates the Ghost's manipulative nature.

Reply



Leave a Reply.